Graduate Student Awards

Fred Clute Memorial Scholarship Award in Entomology

The Fred Clute Memorial Scholarship Award in Entomology was initiated by friends and colleagues of Fred Clute in 2004. As directed by the donors, the scholarship shall be targeted for students in entomology who have an emphasis of study in pest management. If sufficient funds are available, one or more annual awards of $500 will be given.


  1. Open to M.S. and Ph.D. students (full or part time) in the Entomology Graduate Program Area with an emphasis in agricultural or urban pest management.
  2. Students must have completed one academic year within their degree program.
  3. Students may receive this award only once in a given degree program.

Nomination Process: The nomination package shall include:

  1. A two page statement documenting how their research/extension/teaching activities at MU can potentially benefit the pest management knowledge base of stakeholders in agricultural or urban settings.
  2. CV (three page maximum)
  3. Unofficial copy of transcripts
  4. Letter of support from major advisor citing qualifications/accomplishments of the student.

The nomination materials must be submitted electronically as either a Word or PDF document.

Evaluation: The Student Awards Coordinator will appoint three members of the Entomology graduate faculty to a review committee, which will evaluate and rank each application. The application with the highest ranking shall be the recipient of the Fred Clute Memorial Scholarship Award. The review committee reserves the right not to make an award if all applications are deemed unworthy. Eligible applicants must have demonstrated outstanding potential and performance in research, extension or teaching in the area of pest management.

Past Recipients

  • Jessica Kansman, 2017
  • Dalton Ludwick, 2016
  • Kathryn Ingerslew and Hongwei Zhang, 2015
  • Tamra Reall, 2014
  • Lauren Diepenbrock, 2013
  • Paul Botch, 2012
  • Sarah Zukoff and Elizabeth Long, 2011
  • Ian Keesey and Alfred T. Leak, 2009

back to top