Graduate Student Awards

Ferguson Graduate Study Award

Eligilibity: The Ferguson Graduate Study Award recognizes the efforts and accomplishments of an outstanding graduate student within the Division of Plant Sciences, specifically within the field of Agronomy. The amount of the award will be $1,250 per year for two years, for a total amount of $2,500.

Nomination Process: Nominations must be made by a faculty member within the Crop, Soil, and Pest Management or the Plant Breeding, Genetics, and Genomics Program Areas of the Division of Plant Sciences. The nominator should submit a letter that includes a description of the student’s accomplishments, departmental service, and other attributes that qualify them as an outstanding graduate student. The nominee must also provide: 1) a letter of interest that explains why they are interested in the field of agronomy as well as future career plans, and 2) a curriculum vitae that includes educational background and grade point average, teaching, research and/or extension contributions, honors and awards, and leadership activities.

Nomination packets should be submitted to the Director of Graduate programs by March 15.

Evaluation: Nominations will be reviewed by the Division of Plant Sciences Graduate Education and Research committee. Candidates will be evaluated on the basis of demonstrated excellence and lasting impact in the following areas:

  • Outstanding contributions to research, extension, or teaching
  • Academic achievement
  • Future plans related to the agronomy profession
  • Leadership activities
  • Satisfactory progress toward a degree
  • Mentoring to peers and/or undergraduates

Past Recipients

  • Curtis Ransom, 2017
  • Blake Barlow, 2015
  • Brett Naylor, 2014
  • Sarah Kenyon, 2013

back to top